World News

Thailand Cancels Visa on Arrival for 18 Countries Including Saudi Arabia Due to Coronavirus

Corona Virus (Covid-19) is emerging as a threat to life across the Globe. Hundreds and thousands of affected people, gradual death scales have terrorized everyone. More than 80,000 people in about 40 countries have been infected with the new Coronavirus, which emerged in December. Affecting people from New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, the primary outbreak has been recorded in various middle-eastern countries like Lebanon, Kuwait, and Iraq, etc.

People are getting conscious and looking forward to every call made by the health authorities for the precaution and prevention of this deadly virus. From free masks to health camps to detect the cases, from banning free travel to every country to the necessary helpline and free advice, the government is making sure to protect its citizens. Saudi Arabia has been in significant headlines because of the announcement of restricting the travel of 50 country’s citizens. However, Thailand is no far behind now. What have they announced to protect their citizens? Which countries are included? Read all about it in the article below.

Thailand Restricts Traveling of Various Country Citizens

On Wednesday, the Interior Ministry of Thailand announced that they are canceling the grant of visa on arrival for 18 countries and visa exemption for 3 other countries as a safety precaution to contain the spread of the Coronavirus.

What does the Visa on Arrival Mean?

Visa on arrival (VoA) means that the country nationals had the privilege to use their passports or travel documents to apply for Visa on Arrival (VoA) at Thai immigration checkpoints. Read more: Saudi Arabia Temporarily Bans 50 Countries from Travelling to the Kingdom

Which Country Visas have been Canceled?

Following 18 countries, visas on arrival have been canceled. They include,

1). Bulgaria 2). Bhutan
3). China (Including Taiwan) 4). Cyprus
5). Ethiopia 6). Fiji
7). Georgia 8). India
9). Kazakhstan 10). Malta
11). Mexico 12). Nauru
13). Papua New Guinea 14). Romania
15). Russia 16). Saudi Arabia
17). Uzbekistan 18). Vanuatu

Which Visa Exempted Countries are Restricted from Travel now?

Three countries were exempted from visa necessity to travel to Thailand. However, under the coronavirus threat, their freedom has been hampered as well. According to the minister following countries, visas have been canceled. They include,

  • South Korea
  • Italy
  • Hong Kong

We should all keep an eye on the recent news and avoid traveling until everything gets back to normal. However, till then, keep yourself safe and share the article with others which are intended to plan their visit to Thailand. Also, subscribe to us for daily updates.

Latest Updates: You are most welcome to join our Whatsapp Group / Facebook Page to get the recent updates, news, and events of Saudi Arabia.

Comment here